Real Food and #Pinterest

I had a little fun with this! I decided to try new recipes every day for a week. These recipes were selected off Pinterest which I really love! Every once in a while, I get on Pinterest and pin great recipes and ideas. Also, when I see a recipe off a website I want to try, I’ll add it to Pinterest as a reminder to try. I really think Pinterest is a great way to get creative, and change up your usual way of cooking. My family loved every dish, well, almost. I tried out nine new recipes in seven days. The first day was freaking awesome. We made Chocolate Chip Coconut Pancakes, and we loved it! It was grain free which means no gluten, and even dairy free!

Day two, I made Spaghetti Squash alla Carbonara. It was awesome! I was thrilled my little ones loved it too. They asked for more! My husband said it was pretty good, but he wasn’t wild about the bacon in the dish (ummm, the bacon was delicious with the dish; so I think there might possibly be something wrong with my husband’s taste buds….). Just be careful when you open a bag of arrowroot powder (used like constarch), or you’ll end up with this 2nd picture below to clean up with. Also, when you cut the spaghetti squash in half to be baked, I coat the inside and outside with coconut oil (after you scrape the seeds out, of course).

Day three, I made Stuffed Chicken with Goat Cheese and/or raw cheese with Fire Roasted Red Pepper Avacado Spread to dip the stuffed chicken in; served with Baked Portobello Mushrooms and steamed kale. It was DELICIOUS!! I used organic free range chicken thighs. Chicken thighs tend to be tender and a little bit juicy, and they are perfect for wraps. For the red pepper avacodo spread, I used one less avacado and a 12 ounces jar of fire roasted red pepper as well. I added some sea salt and black pepper for flavor, and less garlic powder since I was concentrated on the red pepper being the main flavor. It turned out heavenly.

Day four, another chocolate dish was made! This Chocolate Paleo Pudding with Coconut Whip Cream was AMAZING! Who would’ve thought bananas and avacado would do the trick? It is best to eat it on the day of or day after, and be sure to blend very well. I have a Ninja blender and it really blends well. Seriously, it was so good, we made more the next day. Oh yea, my almost 16 mth old devoured it as you can tell!

Day five, Meatloaf night! Who doesn’t like meatloaf? I’ve made ‘meatloaf’ a few times before, but instead of packing them together into a loaf, I would spread them out on my casserole pan; just something I learned from my mom. My husband thought I was weird for doing this and calling it ‘meatloaf’. Later, his mom was in town for my husband’s graduation from Nascar Technical Institution. On the night before, she decided make John’s favorite meal: meatloaf, mash potatoes, and greens. She actually made it into a loaf, and it tasted amazing! I was actually excited to make REAL meatloaf this time, and it was so easy.

Day six, I tried out a snack. Crunchy Zucchini w/ Sun-dried Tomatoe and Goat Cheese was not what I expected. First off, I didn’t have any zucchini on me, so I went with cucumber instead. I put too much sundried tomato on there, so I had to cut some off. Honestly, it wasn’t that great overall; maybe it would be good with a basil flavored meat dish or something.

Day seven, this dish was digusting! Lol. I tried this Buffalo Cauliflower dish to see if it would be good to make with chicken wings. I made half with Frank’s Buffalo sauce and half with Frank’s Cayenne sauce. Well, I got my answer, and it’s H#&% no. I ended up throwing the whole pan away. My husband was in total agreement. Guys, it’s gross.

Can’t wait to try more new recipes! It’s a great way to keep it spunky in the kitchen. How about you? Have you tried out new recipes lately?

Leave a Reply

